487th Bomb Group (H)
Station 137 - Lavenham, Suffolk, UK
22-Sep-43 to 7-Nov-45

Ted D. Eriksen crew posing in front of their B-17G named "HELL'S BELLE too" at Lavenham, taken after the 487th Bomb Group transitioned to the B-17 in July 1944
Back row (L to R): Eugene Baughman (engineer), Bernard Witt (armorer/tail gunner), Garlan M. Moody (gunner), George F. Schanz (radio operator), Edward Makulec (ball turret gunner)
Front row: Stacy O. Shuler (line chief), John H. Gibbs (copilot), Ted D. Eriksen (pilot), Virgil M. Winter (bombardier), William A. Levinson (navigator)
Not shown: Aubrey D. Caffee (waist gunner), an original member of the crew
(Photo and crew identifications provided by Linda Lester daughter of Eugene Baughman. Bernard Witt confirmed some crew positions)

[Back to 487th Crew photos]